Tags

, , , , ,

SONY DSC

Corsac Fox (Vulpes Corsac) Yawning, Hamerton Zoo. Photo courtesy of Spencer Wright, https://www.flickr.com/photos/spencer77/

Have I mentioned how much I love Zumba? I love it I love it I love it I LOVE it! But for some embarrassing reason, I sometimes, often, almost always, yawn uncontrollably through class. I don’t have to force myself or talk myself into going because I “should.” If I’m there, it’s because I want to be. Zumba is one of the things I look forward to the most in my routine. Sometimes I’m tired, yeah…but not that tired!

Do I have a problem with my lung capacity? Not that I know of.

Am I breathing wrong? Do I not understand how lungs are supposed to work? Perhaps. Wouldn’t be the first time I was doing something totally wrong that is supposed to be automatic. I became a shallow mouth breather while I was pregnant and I suspect I have not totally reverted to breathing like a non-pregnant person. That could have something to do with it.

Am I getting enough sleep? I think so, usually… Insomnia and I are not strangers to each other, but oddly, I seem to yawn less on mornings after I’ve been up reading at 3am because I couldn’t sleep.

Do I have a sleep disorder, like maybe a mild form narcolepsy that allows me to briefly nod off while performing complicated dance moves like a total pro? I should probably look into that possibility…

Am I really a slow moving loris stuck in a human body? This seems like the most likely explanation. But what is a loris? (See below.)

Here’s what I look like in Zumba, but with more yawning:

I would like to blame my toddler for my apparent fatigue and constant yawning, but I’ve been yawning through my workouts for years. I used to yawn a lot in Pilates classes, but Pilates happens on a mat, which is a place one might conceivably fall asleep and take a lovely nap, so it’s understandable. How is it even possible to yawn during a cardio workout? I’m in constant motion, having fun and goofing around with my friends! How can I mambo and salsa and be having a great time and still give the impression that I am either bored to death or about to pass out?

Until this mystery can be solved, I just want to say to all my group fitness instructors, past, present and future: It’s not you! It’s me. I love your class and everything you do (even if I am loud and snarky and always complaining about the misogynist lyrics of the songs and that one step that must be against the laws of physics because I just can’t get it right..) Please, just ignore me. I teach college students and they can be a tough crowd – I know what it’s like to be stared at by a sea of faces who simply will not, under any circumstances, be amused or play along.

I am absolutely, 100% amused. I only look like I might lie down and have a snooze.

Anyone else out there have this problem?

